The customer just wants to know

With rates at an all time low, I recently decided to refinance my home loan. I called Mike at Bank of America and told him what I wanted to do. He had helped me with my original loan and I really liked him so I decided to let him help me with the refi. To make a long story short, it didn’t go very smoothly. Mike and his team were overloaded with work due to layoffs in his department. The entire process took months longer than it should have, but to Mike’s credit, he handled it professionally and honestly, keeping me in the loop the entire time.

The fact is, Mike could have made up all sorts of excuses. He could have avoided my calls or he could have passed me off to someone else. But he didn’t. He answered all my questions whenever I had them. He returned my calls whenever I made them. He was professional and honest even when the news was not positive. In the end, my refi got done and Mike refunded me a lot of money to make up for all the delays. Despite all the issues, I’d recommend Mike in a second. Because ultimately what makes a customer angry is not the problems, it the lack of honest communication. And Mike has that part down.

Customers just want to know what’s going on. Be honest with them and treat them fairly and they will come back again and again.

Leave a Reply

