Quotas are a bad idea

Do you set quotas for your employees? Most industries do use them to a certain extent. Its a great way to let employees know what is expected of them, right? And if they don’t hit quotas we know why these employees are failing, right? Wrong.

Quotas only work to motivate employees to reach a level just above failure. They hit their quota and their done. How many employees will far exceed their quotas? Very few. So if not quotas, then what?

The best way to motivate employees is to train them properly and make them feel as if they are a valued part of the company. Nothing motivates someone more than an intrinsic feeling of importance. A feeling that they are doing something that is of value. Something that counts. Don’t believe me? There are numerous studies that show this to be true.

This video explains it better than I ever could. Its about 18 minutes long but well worth your time.

The Science of Motivation

2 Responses

  1. I back you 100% on this theory. When someone tells me that I’m important to a team, I feel like I MUST to a good job so I won’t let that person down.

    • Thanks for stopping by Xavier. It truly is amazing how powerful the act of “valuing” employees can be. I’ve seen it over and over, and the science backs it up.

Leave a Reply

