If you want to be successful, don’t sell your service

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been sold to. My guard immediately goes up when this happens. How does the sales person know if his or her service is something I need? And even if it is, do I want to buy from someone who is more intent on making a sale as opposed to listening to my needs?

Sometimes the conversation starts out on the right path, but too often turns into the sales person telling me what he or she can sell me. This is a short sighted approach. Listen to your potential clients. They have a problem that needs to be solved. If you don’t listen, you won’t be able to solve it. Resist the effort to sell.

The other thing is that a potential client is giving you their most valuable resource…time. You should feel honored and grateful. Don’t abuse it. 90% of that time should be spent asking questions and figuring out if you can solve their problem. If your service doesn’t solve their problem, be honest. You may not make an immediate sale, but you also won’t waste valuable resources trying to fit a square peg into a round hole.

One Response

  1. Amen!

    I always think that if a person has to talk so much about how good he/she is or how good his/her service is, it’s probably not good at all.

    Sell by demonstrating value. I think it’s a tougher, slower sell, but the customers you do create stick longer and won’t leave you for the next shiny thing that they see.

Leave a Reply

